Melbourne Pool Fence Inspections Logo

Get your pool or spa barriers inspected

Or call now – 0477 100 118

Trusted experts for pool safety & fence inspections in Melbourne

When it comes to living the Australian dream, it doesn’t get much better than having a pool in your backyard. However, to truly enjoy this asset in your home, it’s important it is Kidsafe and therefore have a current pool/spa barrier certificate of compliance (Form 23).

Here at Melbourne Pool Fence Inspections, we are proud to be highly experienced, trusted professionals when it comes to certifying residential pools and spas in compliance with the law. Our team will come out to your property and assess the safety of your fencing / barrier to ensure that it is compliant with all regulations, providing you with peace of mind.

Our experienced inspectors are fully insured and registered building inspectors with the VBA , and know the ins and outs of pool fence/barrier regulations.

When you choose MPFI, you can rely on a friendly, professional and highly knowledgeable service. Our experts are experienced and know the ins and outs of pool fencing regulations, meaning they can answer any questions you may have.

Get in touch with us today to book your inspection!

The importance of getting a pool fence safety certification

As anyone with a pool should know, Victoria’s pool fencing laws state that all swimming pools and spas with a depth of 30cm or more must be protected by compliant safety barriers/fences/gates. Any residential property with a pool found to be in breach of these regulations can face possible large fines.

Not only is a non-compliant pool area against the law, but more importantly it is unsafe for children. When you come to MPFI for certification, you will have peace of mind knowing that we conduct a full and thorough inspection to assess all safety issues in the process. If your pool is found to be non-compliant, we will provide you with a report clearly listing all the non-compliant items requiring rectification to help obtain your certificate of compliance .

Simple prices, no surprises

  • Initial Inspection

  • Comprehensive onsite pool / spa barrier inspection to relevant Australian Standard.

    If barrier complies, we will issue a certificate of compliance.

    If barrier does not comply, we will supply a comprehensive written report complete with photos, diagrams and including suggested rectification works .

    All inspection, reason for possible defects and suggested rectification works explained on site if required.

    All reports included in fees.

  • Please note – once we have done the inspection and you have received your 1st barrier notice you have 60 days to make the barrier compliant.
  • $290 inc GST
  • Follow up Inspection
    (if 2nd inspection required)
  • After you have completed all the rectification works.

    Comprehensive onsite pool / spa barrier inspection to relevant Australian Standard.

    If barrier complies, we will issue a certificate of compliance.

    If barrier does not comply, we will supply a comprehensive written report complete with photos, diagrams and including suggested rectification works .

    All inspection, reason for possible defects and suggested rectification works explained on site if required.

    All reports included in fees.

  • Please note – once we have done the inspection and you have received your 2nd barrier notice you have 7 days to make the barrier compliant.
  • $190 inc GST

The Melbourne Pool Inspections and Safety Service

At MPFi our number one priority is keeping your children safe.

We provide a fast, professional and efficient pool boundary and fence inspection service, that is prompt, thorough and regulation compliant.

Our highly qualified, fully insured Inspectors provide a friendly and helpful service.

Affordable

Reliable

Experienced

Trustworthy

Fast Turnaround

Our process for Pool Inspection Safety Certification

We provide a free list of the regulations and information for you to be able to make sure your pool barrier is compliant with the relevant standard to your pool prior to our site visit so hopefully your pool barrier will pass the inspection first time.

We will then visit your property and undertake a comprehensive inspection of your pool barrier and fence. After completion, you will receive your compliance certificate to lodge with your local council with the minimum of effort or stress to you.

Our friendly team endeavour to respond quickly and efficiently to your enquiries and are happy to answer any questions you might have about the certification process or the pool fencing laws in Victoria. From start to finish, we want to make your experience as easy and stress-free as possible, making us the go-to name for your inspection needs throughout Melbourne.

Get in touch with us today

Do you need to organise a pool fence certification for your Melbourne home? Get in touch with MPFI today to organise an appointment and see why we are Victoria’s trusted name for pool fence inspections.

What our customers say

Based on 11 reviews.
Mauro Maitan
Mauro Maitan
2022-02-16
Absolutely excellent!!! Ian provided invaluable help and advice which I would define absolutely critical to achieve compliance with our pool. Ian and MPFI will definitely be our port of call for future consultancies to ensure our domestic pool always meets the requirements mandated by the current regulations.
Roger Berryman
Roger Berryman
2022-01-17
Ian was terrific. Very professional, knowledgable and provided us with great assistance and advice. We would highly recommend using Ian.
Amanda Berryman
Amanda Berryman
2022-01-09
Ian's friendly and professional advice was of great assistance. He is very knowledgeable and we would highly recommend him to others.
Lisa Owen
Lisa Owen
2021-11-12
Great feed back and advice, would highly recommend.
Meredith Chen
Meredith Chen
2021-10-07
I was very happy with the service provided by Melbourne Pool Fence inspections. Ian Stewart was very prompt in providing assessment reports for the pool site, before and after fencing replacement. He is very knowledgeable and professional. 100% recommendation !
Sharee Joniec
Sharee Joniec
2021-09-29
Ian and his Team are very responsive and professional. We have used these guys on various occasions and very happy to recommend them. Thanks again, we look forward to working with you again in the future.
Rob Berry
Rob Berry
2021-09-23
We found Ian Stewart of Melbourne Pool Fence Inspections (MPFI) to be highly professional and knowledgeable. The booking procedure was straight-forward and Ian arrived promptly on time. Following the initial visit a few minor matters were rectified and the provision of a compliance certificate followed without any difficulties. We have no hesitation in recommending the services of MPFI.
Bruce Kent
Bruce Kent
2021-08-23
It was just a great experience getting my pool fence inspected by Ian of Melbourne Pool Fence Inspections (MPFI). He was extremely professional, friendly and attended promptly. He is very knowledgeable, explaining all requirements of the new Pool Act and my responsibilities after being issued with the certificate of compliance. I highly recommend this company for your next pool fence inspection.
Adam Crist
Adam Crist
2021-03-16
Ian was a pleasure to deal with. Very professional with helpful advice and communication. Pricing was very competitive and will be using Ian’s service again for the next inspection. Cheers Adam

FAQs For Pool Fence Inspections

All pool/spa owners were required to register their swimming pool and/or spa by 1st November 2019.

If you haven’t registered with your council a fine may be imposed by the council.

You register online on your council’s website.

If you don’t register the regulations state that it will be an offence not to register within the required time frame which will be subject to a penalty of $330.45

Any swimming pool or spa that can hold water to a depth greater than 300mm and principally used, or designed, manufactured or adapted to be principally used for swimming.

This includes in-ground and above ground pools and spas, inflatable pools, indoor pools and spa pools, children’s paddling and wading pools, spas, jacuzzis, hot tubs and swim spas and portable spas.

This does not include bodies of water that are not used or adapted to be used for swimming such as birdbaths, fish ponds, fountains, spas inside a building/bathroom that are used for personal hygiene and contain a drain plug, water supply/storage tanks and dams, rivers, creeks and lakes.

A pool and spa may be registered in a single application, however, if they are protected by separate barrier systems there may be differences in the standards to which they are inspected depending on construction dates for each one. Council will work through this with you as part of your registration.

Once you have completed your application to register your swimming pool or spa, Council will confirm the date of the construction of the swimming pool, the relevant standard that the safety barrier must comply with and the date that the certificate of compliance for the safety barrier(s) must be lodged by.

The council must send you a letter with all these details. (We cannot complete an Inspection without it as we must do the inspection to the specific set of regulations stated in your letter).

Once the swimming pool and/or spa has been registered with Council, it will remain on the register until the owner applies to Council to remove it from the register and an agreement is made between Council and the owner of the removal or decommissioning process.

The Victorian Government has now officially extended the deadlines for lodging certificates of barrier compliance with local councils. The new dates were deemed necessary to ensure that pool inspections can be done in an orderly and timely manner during the pandemic.

Members should familiarise themselves with the revised dates and implement processes to roll out the inspection timetable.
Pool/spa construction date  –  Compliance certificate must be lodged by

  • On or before 30 June 1994  –  1 June 2022
  • From 1 July 1994 until 30 April 2010  –  1 June 2023
  • From 1 May 2010 until 31 October 2020  –  1 June 2024

Additional information is available on the VBA website.

We can!

Only Building Surveyors and Building Inspectors currently registered with the VBA can complete the inspections and issue certificates for you.

All our inspectors at MPFI / SSPI are fully qualified, well trained, fully insured and registered with the VBA.

The regulations state that it will be an offence not to submit a Certificate of Compliance within the required time frame and this will be subject to a penalty of approx $360.00 and ongoing fines and penalties until the safety barrier is made compliant.

If we find the barrier is non-compliant, we will provide you with a clearly written report, specifying the issues, possible rectification suggestions and the requirements of the relevant standard. Where we find there is an imminent danger, we must issue a certificate of pool and barrier non-compliant.

After re-inspection, if we determine that the pool barrier is compliant, we can issue a certificate of barrier compliance, and you must then lodge the certificate with your local council.

If the barrier remains non-compliant, but we are satisfied that progress has been made towards bringing the barrier into compliance, a maximum additional seven days are allowed to rectify the issues. Otherwise, we must issue a certificate of barrier non-compliance.

Yes, we recommend you pre-check your safety barrier and if required undertake any repairs/rectification works necessary prior to the inspection.

You will hopefully get all the issues completed (which we would prefer) and the safety barrier can be passed on the 1st inspection saving you time and a 2nd inspection fee.

Also once your inspector has done the initial inspection you have only 60 days to complete the repairs/rectification works prior to a 2nd inspection.

So getting some or all of the works done prior to the inspection may save you time and headaches re possible trades and materials shortages.

If our inspector is satisfied that the safety barrier is compliant, they will issue a Certificate of Compliance (Form23) and provide a copy to the owner. The owner must then lodge a copy of the certificate to Council. Council will then record details of the certificate on the register.

The regulations state that a Certificate of Compliance will need to be lodged with Council every four years. Council will write to the owners advising of the next lodgement date.

Yes, an owner can obtain a Building Permit from a private Building Surveyor or can make a written request to Council to remove or decommission their swimming pool or spa.

Council can provide advice on the acceptable method of decommissioning a swimming pool or spa.

Residential home owners, Real estate agents, Motels & Hotels, Caravan parks, Schools, Body corporates.

The initial inspection may take up to an hour; follow up inspection should take less time.

No you don’t need to be there but we advise you be there so we can discuss any rectification works that may be necessary.